Have you ever met someone and had the sense that you were not strangers; that somewhere, somehow you had encountered them before this introduction? Perhaps it was the way they moved toward you and took your hand with a certain familiarity. Their knowing smile or prolonged gaze made you want to ask, “Do I know you?”  How embarrassing to admit you had forgotten a friend.  

All too often, God meets me where I least expect to find Him and if I’m not careful, I will fail to recognize Him. I can go to church on Sunday, participate in corporate worship, and know for sure that I have met God, but in other contexts His presence is more subtle. I miss out on so many opportunities to include Him in the daily workings of my life that by the time Sunday rolls around He seems only vaguely familiar. It feels like I have to get reacquainted all over again.

I am no expert on the subject, but I wonder if a prerequisite for worship is a conscious awareness of God working in our daily lives. How can you worship someone if you do not first recognize His presence? His power, mercy, and grace in the mundane are just as important as in the miraculous.

 Before he received his sight, the blind man from John Chapter 9 did not know Jesus. Even when his sight was restored, however, he did not know Jesus completely. Remember what he said to the Pharisees? “He [Jesus] is a prophet!” The miracle Jesus had performed did not prove his Deity to the blind man. His words did!  “You have both seen [The Son of God] and it is He who is talking with you.”  The blind man wanted, he waited, he went and washed, he witnessed, and now having heard the words of God, he fell on his face and worshipped.

We do not need miracles to worship God. He has given us something better: His Word. And His Word promises, “I will never leave you nor forsake you.” God’s hands are at work in our lives always, but sometimes we have to open our eyes and search for His presence, especially when we are in the midst of pain. I believe that in moments of reflection when we ask, “Where are you, Lord, that I may believe in You?” He will show us that we “have both seen Him and it is He who is talking with us now!”  (John 9:36-37)

alone

