I just recently received a dramatized version of the New Testament and have been listening to the book of Colossians while I drive. In the first chapter, Paul prays very specifically for the Colossians. It is a pray for completion. It is a prayer I have begun to pray for myself:

Dear Lord,

            I ask You to give me the complete knowledge of Your will and to give me spiritual wisdom and understanding. Then the way I live will always honor and please You and my life will produce every kind of good fruit. I will grow as I learn to know You better and better. I also pray that I will be strengthened with all Your glorious power so I will have all the endurance and patience that I need. May I be filled with joy, always thanking You. You have enabled me to share in the inheritance that belongs to Your people, who live in the light. For you have rescued me from the kingdom of darkness and transferred me into the Kingdom of Your dear Son, who purchased my freedom and forgave my sins. Amen. (Col. 1:9-14 NLT)

In this prayer are 6 requests for completion:

1. That we would have all wisdom and spiritual understanding to know God’s will. Abraham was considered “a friend of God.” As a follower of Jesus, we are God’s friends also. Because of this, He wants to let us in on His plans. Ask Him to show you what He is doing even today.

2. That we would always make Him happy through the good works we do. Isn’t is amazing that God delights in the good things we do? Knowing this, every mundane and seemingly insignificant task can become an opportunity to make God happy!

3. That our knowledge of God Himself would continue to increase. God is infinite and so there is always something to learn about Him. This doesn’t mean that we should stay satisfied with our current knowledge of Him. Knowing God’s person will help us to know His will (1).

4. That we would be strengthened with all His power. The same power that raised Christ from the dead is in us also. We can tap into that power any time we want.

5. That we would be full of patience and joy in difficult times. This only comes from remembering the inheritance we have to look foward to when this life is over and recognizing our status as His children now.

6. That we would consciously and consistently give thanks to God for all  He has done in, for, and through us. Saying thanks helps us change our perspective, taking the focus off the negative and placing it on the positive.

These requests may seem impertinent, even blasphemous, but according to the Bible, they are appropriate for us to pray as children of God. We can be complete in Christ, in knowledge, in service, in power, in joy, in patience, and in thanksgiving. But we have to ask!!   

Question: What do you think it takes to be a complete person?

