Richard Stearns, president of World Vision (the largest relief organization in the history of the world), had been an extremely successful businessman. He rose to the top of the corporate world as the CEO of Parker Brothers, but it was not until he was fired from two consecutive positions within a nine-month period of time (Parker Brothers and Franklin Mint) and then spent fourteen months unemployed that God began to make clear to him his true calling in life. In his book, The Hole in Our Gospel, Stearns described the one lesson he learned through his loss. “[I learned that] no matter where I was or what my circumstances were, I was made to love, serve, and obey God. I could do all three whether unemployed or as a CEO—my situation didn’t matter. When I was eventually offered a job, I took that lesson with me and began each day asking, how can I love, serve, and obey God today, in this place with these people?”2 It was this newfound purpose that gave him the strength to leave the corporate world and join World Vision, an organization that has helped millions of children, families, and their communities to reach their full potential by tackling the causes of poverty and injustice. Not all of us are called to lead international relief organizations, but fulfilling our purpose in life is no less important to God. He wants us to be fulfilled mentally, emotionally, and spiritually, but in order to do that, we may need to give up that to which we hold most tightly.

