As a psychiatrist, I see many individuals at the lowest point in their lives. “These are [literally] the times that try mens’ souls.” They are times of painful questioning…Does God really love me? Is He really good? How can I be saved when I feel so lost?

I think we have all been here at some point in our lives (and for those who have not, please see Proverbs 6: “God hates a lying tongue!” 🙂

One passage that has encouraged me during these dark times is 1 John 3:19-20: “This is how we will know we belong to the truth and will convince our conscience in His presence, even if our conscience condemns us, that God is greater than our conscience, and He knows all things.” (HCSB)

A few verses later in 1 John 4:10 it says, “Love consists in this: not that we loved God, but that He loved us and sent His Son to be the propitiation (pardon or appeasement; removal of divine wrath) for our sins.” (HCSB)

So, often I must pray as the man whose son was demon-possessed, “Lord, I believe. Help my unbelief!” Thank God He is faithful even when I am faithless.

Can God keep for His Kingdom the man whose Alzheimer’s Disease is making it difficult to remember his own child’s name, let alone his commitment to Christ? What about the women suffering from schizophrenia or manic-depression who has completely lost touch with reality? The answer: “Nothing can separate us from the Love of Christ…” (Romans 8:38-39).

Take courage today, knowing that your salvation depends not on your own strength to holdfast but on the nail-pierced hands of Christ holding fast to you!

