As a psychiatrist, I’m used to some of my severely mentally ill patients believing they are someone famous. One of my patients, years ago, told me that he was Jesus Christ. I will admit: I had a hard time keeping a straight face because he looked nothing like the image of Jesus that I had in my mind. He was dirty, disheveled, with slurred speech and an attention span the size of a mustard seed (to use a spiritual metaphor 🙂 )

Then, suddenly, I realized something important, something that broke me, reminded me of how dirty and unworthy I was: this man really was Jesus Christ, at least as far as my attitude should have been concerned! The words of Matthew 25 were sobering: “Truly, I tell you, whatever you did for the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.” Though Jesus was speaking specifically of his disciples in this passage, I think the truth applies to all of humanity, even our enemies.

Though I fail often, I want this simple truth to transform the way I deal with my family, my church, my clients, and anyone else the Lord brings across my path. How many angels have we entertained unaware? I guess it doesn’t matter. What really matters is that what we do for the least, we do for the Greatest! Hear them say, “I am Jesus Christ!”

Question: What helps you to see Jesus in others?

